Get Motivated! Find exercise you like

Beginning your fitness journey

9778572820fc035249d5e4a43654d240

To get started on your fitness journey, start with exercises you think you will enjoy.  Nothing sounds worse to me than going to the gym and running/walking on a treadmill for 30 minutes, way too boring! It’s important to find something you like to do. For me this was taking up running.  I have NEVER been a strong runner.  When I first started, I couldn’t run for longer than 2 minutes without stopping to walk but, I was motivated to one day be a strong runner so I kept at it, running for longer and longer periods of time. To date, my longest run has been 10 miles. After, I started running, I realized how much I liked being active and I started doing yoga.  I liked yoga but, it wasn’t something I stuck to once I discovered kickboxing.  I started kickboxing and I loved it and you can burn up to 1000 calories per class!  That beats the 200 calories you’ll burn on a boring treadmill.  I stuck with kickboxing and eventually began Brazilian Jiu Jitsu (BJJ) which I love.  So I found what I like to do and it works for me, I currently rotate kickboxing, BJJ, and running for cardio and get a cardio workout in at least 5 days a week… And guess what? I don’t dread a single second of it.

Leave a Reply

